Financial Coaching as an Asset Building Strategy

Jun 04, 2014, 1PM EST / 12PM CST / 10AM PST

Coaching is no longer reserved for sports teams. Today, people are looking for excellence and turning to coaches to improve their health, their career and their finances. A coach can see what a client cannot. Just like a fitness coach holds their clients accountable for their diet and exercise, a finance coach holds their clients accountable to sound financial management, providing them the guidance, support and motivation needed to reach their financial goals.

June 4 at 1:00pm EST, AFN with Dr. Michael Collins from the Center for Financial Security at the University of Wisconsin shared their findings on financial coaching as a promising strategy for helping people improve their financial lives.  This webinar provided grantmakers with a framework for differentiating financial coaching from other types of interventions, outlined promising strategies in this relatively new field, and provided recommendations for funders interested in future investments. 

_________________________

Moderator:

 - Heather Benedict, Vice President, Hands on Banking, Wells Fargo

Presenters:

 - J. Michael Collins, Director, Center for Financial Security, University of Wisconsin

 - Regina Salliey, Program Officer, Annie E. Casey Foundation

_________________________

Webinar resources:

PDF Slides

Financial Coaching as an Asset Building Strategy (Dr. J. Michael Collins, 2014)

Financial Coaching as an Asset Building Strategy from Asset Funders Network on Vimeo.