The Web of Wealth: Resiliency and Opportunity or Driver of Inequality?

Jul 31, 2014, 1pm EDT / 12pm CDT / 10am PDT

Families often help each other out financially. In the short-term, financial help often prevents those in the network from economic collapse or a serious decline in their standard of living. Over the long-term, extended family financial support can provide a steppingstone to better opportunities, such as going to college, starting a business, or purchasing a home.

Key findings from The Web of Wealth: Resiliency and Opportunity or Driver of Inequality?, a new brief in the Institute on Asset and Social Policy's Leveraging Mobility Series were presented.  Participants explored the role of extended family wealth networks in providing resiliency and opportunity, examined how wealth networks drive inequality, and discussed the implications for funders and practitioners. 

Moderator

Annika Little, Strategic Programs Director, Asset Funders Network

Presenters

Hannah Thomas, Ph.D., Senior Research Associate, The Institute on Assets and Social Policy, The Heller School at Brandeis University

Kilolo Kijakazi, Ph.D., Program Officer, Ford Foundation

Webinar Resources: 

Click here for the Webinar Recording (also below).  NOTE: Due to technical issues, the slideshow becomes delayed at the begininning of the IASP presentation - you may download the webinar slides to view while watching the recorded presentation. 

Webinar Slides (PDF)

Brief: The Web of Wealth: Resiliency and Opportunity or Driver of Inequality? by Hannah Thomas, Tatjana Meschede, Alexis Mann, Janet Boguslaw, and Thomas Shapiro

Institute on Assets and Social Policy IASP Website

2014-07-31 12.01 The Web of Wealth Resiliency and Opportunity or Driver of Inequality from Asset Funders Network on Vimeo.